Skip to content Skip to navigation

NE Professor Per Peterson to Serve as Executive Associate Dean of COE

Monday, Feb 2nd 2015

The Department of Nuclear Engineering is happy and proud to announce that Professor Per Peterson has been selected to serve the College of Engineering as Executive Associate Dean.

Per the announcement released by the College:

Per succeeds Fiona Doyle, who became Dean of UC Berkeley’s Graduate Division on January 1. In his new role, Per is serving as my right hand in all matters of the College’s administration. In particular, he will be involved closely in academic personnel matters (working with Associate Dean Masayoshi Tomizuka), our ABET accreditation, and donor relations.

In a related move, Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion Oscar Dubón will serve also as Associate Dean for Student Affairs, assuming oversight of our Engineering Student Services team. We’re deeply grateful to Oscar for taking on this expanded responsibility.

Per Peterson has maintained a long and fruitful affiliation with Berkeley and the College of Engineering. He earned his Ph.D. here in 1988, and joined our nuclear engineering faculty in 1990. He has been a full professor since 1998. His research and teaching focus on fission and fusion energy systems, the safety and security of nuclear materials, and next-generation nuclear reactors.

Per is regularly called upon to offer his expertise to important energy policy matters. He was named by the White House to the U.S. Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future, which released its report in 2012. He served as a scientific adviser to Secretary of Energy Steven Chu after the Fukushima accident, and is now in his fourth term on the State of California’s Diablo Canyon Independent Safety Committee. He has also served on various advisory panels for the nation’s energy laboratories.

Closer to home, he has chaired our nuclear engineering department twice: from 2000–05 and from 2009–12. He has also chaired the interdisciplinary Energy and Resources Group as well as the campus’s Radiation Safety Committee.