Skip to content Skip to navigation

Prof. Digby Macdonald Awarded Frumkin Memorial Medal

Tuesday, Sep 2nd 2014

Professor Digby Macdonald received the Frumkin Memorial Medal at the 65th Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) on September 1, 2014, in Lausanne, Switzerland.  This prestigious award is given by the ISE once every two years and honors the recipient for outstanding work in the field of Electrochemistry.  Professor Macdonald was awarded the Frumkin Medal based on the development of the modern theory of passivity and passivity breakdown, which provides an explanation for our use of the reactive metals (Fe, Al, mg, Ni, Cr, etc) in our metals-based civilization.  This work also resolved (in 1982) Faraday's iron-in-nitric acid paradox that had defied resolution from 1833.

Congratulations Professor Macdonald!