Skip to content Skip to navigation

Latest News

Three UCBNE Students Receive ANS Scholarships!

Wednesday, Jun 15th 2016

Congratulations to Manfred Virgil Ambat, Michael Martin and Joseph E. Lee on their ANS Scholarships.  The scholarships were announced at the ANS Annual Meeting this week, held at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans.

Manfred Virgil Ambat has been awarded a sophomore undergraduate scholarship.

Sophomore Michael Martin has been awarded the Hans P. Loewen Memorial Scholarship.

Junior Joseph E. Lee will receive the John and Muriel Landis Scholarship.


Three UCBNE Faculty Receive NEUP Funding Awards

Tuesday, Jun 14th 2016

Professor Max Fratoni has received a $400K R&D award for a project entitled "Molten Salt Reactor Experiment Benchmark Evaluation


NE Undergraduate Hi Vo Wins Innovation in Fuel Cyle Research Award

Tuesday, Jun 7th 2016

The U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy, Office of Fuel Cycle Technologies UCBNE undergraduate student Hi Vo a 2016 Innovations in Fuel Cycle Research Award. Hi's project, entitled "Small-Scale Mechanical Testing on Proton Beam-Irradiated 304 SS from Room Temperature to Reactor Operation Temperature" was conducted as part of his research in Professor Hosemann's Materials Group. 


Professor Peterson Profiled

Wednesday, May 18th 2016

NE Professor Per Peterson was profiled on the UC Berkeley Research webpage.  The article, by Wallace Ravven, details the work Professor Peterson's TH Lab does with molten salt reactors and also highlights Professor Peterson's involvement with the US-China Clean Energy Research Center for Water-Energy Technologies (CERC-WET).


Professor Daniel Kammen Appointed as U.S. Science Envoy

Monday, Apr 4th 2016

Professor Daniel Kammen, a Department of Nuclear Engineering Joint faculty member, has been appointed as one of five U.S. Science Envoys by the US State Department.  The U.S.