Skip to content Skip to navigation

Latest News

Professor Rachel Slaybaugh to Speak at SXSW Eco

Wednesday, Jun 15th 2016

Department of Nuclear Engineering Professor Rachel Slaybaugh will speak at the South by Southwest Eco conference October 10-12 in Austin, TX.  Professor Slaybaugh will be on a panel entitled "Exploring the Advanced Nuclear Ecosystem


UCBNE Grad Student Receives ANS Student Literary Award

Wednesday, Jun 15th 2016

UCBNE Graduate Student, David Frazer received a Student Literary Award at the 2016 ANS Nuclear Fuels and Structural Materials Section of the ANS Annual Meeting this week in New Orleans, LA. 


Three UCBNE Students Receive ANS Scholarships!

Wednesday, Jun 15th 2016

Congratulations to Manfred Virgil Ambat, Michael Martin and Joseph E. Lee on their ANS Scholarships.  The scholarships were announced at the ANS Annual Meeting this week, held at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans.

Manfred Virgil Ambat has been awarded a sophomore undergraduate scholarship.

Sophomore Michael Martin has been awarded the Hans P. Loewen Memorial Scholarship.

Junior Joseph E. Lee will receive the John and Muriel Landis Scholarship.


Three UCBNE Faculty Receive NEUP Funding Awards

Tuesday, Jun 14th 2016

Professor Max Fratoni has received a $400K R&D award for a project entitled "Molten Salt Reactor Experiment Benchmark Evaluation


NE Undergraduate Hi Vo Wins Innovation in Fuel Cyle Research Award

Tuesday, Jun 7th 2016

The U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy, Office of Fuel Cycle Technologies UCBNE undergraduate student Hi Vo a 2016 Innovations in Fuel Cycle Research Award. Hi's project, entitled "Small-Scale Mechanical Testing on Proton Beam-Irradiated 304 SS from Room Temperature to Reactor Operation Temperature" was conducted as part of his research in Professor Hosemann's Materials Group.