Karl A. Van Bibber

DSC_8302_1.JPG Karl A. Van Bibber
Professor and Chair
Department of Nuclear Engineering
UC Berkeley
4153 Etcheverry Hall MC 1730
Berkeley, CA 94720-1730

Email: karl.van.bibber@nuc.berkeley.edu
Phone: 510-642-3477
Fax: 510-643-9685

B.S. Physics, MIT (1972)
B.S. Mathematics, MIT (1972)
Ph.D.  Physics, MIT (1976)    
Ph.D. Thesis – “Study of the Gamma Deexcitation Following Deep Inelastic Scattering of  16O with 27Al”  (Advisor – Stephen G. Steadman)
Field of specialization:  Nuclear Physics; Particle Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Nuclear Instrumentation; Accelerator Science & Technology

Research and Training: Nuclear physics in high energy density plasmas; Axion experiments and dark-matter searches; plasma-based neutron sources and accelerators; antineutrino reactor monitoring.
Professional Societies
Fellow, American Physical Society
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement for Science
Professional Recognition
Navy Superior Civilian Service Award (2012)
Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2007),             “For distinguished contributions to the field of astrophysics and particle accelerator physics, particularly for efforts in the dark matter axion search”
“Karl van Bibber Physics Postdoctoral Research Fellowships” endowed at Stanford University  Five endowed 2005 by anonymous industrialist donor
Elected APS Fellow 2001,  “For his leadership in an ultra-sensitive search for dark-matter axions, and the conception of other elegant experiments for detection of the axion”
DOE Deputy Secretary’s Award for the B Factory, on behalf of the LLNL team,  (2000)
LLNL S&T Award,  with BaBar team for discovery of CP-violation in the B-Meson System (2002)
LLNL Director’s Distinguished Performance Award for the B Factory (1997)
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (1982)
Phi Beta Kappa (1972)

Member, Board of Directors, John & Fannie Hertz Foundation (2011-present)
Hertz Foundation Graduate Fellowship Selection Committee (2006–present)
Member, Board of Directors, US-Singapore Temesek Defence Sciences Institute (2009-2012)
Edward Teller Centennial Symposium, Chair, Organizing Committee (2008)
Executive Committee, Amer. Phys. Soc., CA-NV Section (2008-2011), Chair (2010)
European Commission VIth & VIIth Framework Program Expert Panel (2002-pres)
National Science Foundation review panels, multiple (2000-present)
Los Alamos National Laboratory review panels, multiple (2002-2010)
Member, Editorial Board, The SLAC Beam Line  (1997-2000)
Member, Board of Directors, Wang NMR, Inc. (1997- 2002)
Member, SLAC Users Organization Executive Committee (1990-1993)
Chairman, Executive Committee, LBNL 88” Cyclotron Users Group (1983-1985)
Phi Beta Kappa Executive Council, Stanford Univ. (1983-1985, President 1984-1985)
APS Division of Nuclear Physics Program Committee  (1980-1982)
Doctoral students
Prof. Keith Griffioen (1984)            
Chair, Department of Physics, College of  William & Mary
Dr. Peter Countryman (1988)          
Synarc, San Francisco
Dr. S. Darin Kinion (2001)            
Nuclear & Particle Physics Division, Lawrence Livermore
Publications & Patents
Published more than 100 peer-reviewed articles, edited two books, awarded one patent.