BRAWM Question: testing food with Geiger counter

We have all seen blogs and demos of people testing various items such as food, rainwater, seaweed, etc with Geiger counters.

Question: If someone claims to have taken background samples of 38 CPM and tested food at 55 CPM, is that food safe?

I'm not an expert, but neither are most bloggers, but do you subtract test subject CPM from background CPM? (55 CPM minus 38 CPM to get 17 CPM in food sample). If so, would 17 CPM be safe or is any number above background unsafe?

At what level of CPM over background be cause for concern?

You see lots of stuff on the Internet and hear stuff from people. Thank you for your input.

Thusly Hath BRAWM Spake...

The bottom line is that if your Geiger counter reads above background on your food, it may be due to mischief by the Chinese, Russians, North Koreans, Iranians, al-Qaeda dirty underpants bombers, or possibly a banana in your pocket, but it absolutely, positively is NOT coming from Fukushima, whose radiation is harmless and undetectable except by the minions of Our Glorious Empire. Thusly hath BRAWM spake.

Professor Farnsworth

Nice straw man. To recap: 1.

Nice straw man.

To recap:
1. There are plenty of foods that are contaminated with fukushima fallout.
2. A geiger counter is too blunt an instrument to see it given that your food already has natural radiation in it. You need something like a germanium detector to separate those different sources of radiation.
3. Please feel free to buy your own germanium detector and do your own analysis. No need to depend on the minions of the empire. I would suggest this one so that you get good acceptance out at the potassium peak. http://www.canberra.com/products/485.asp
4. The fallout is not harmless but it is negligible compared to what is already there, at least on the west coast of the US.
5. I'm just a humble subatomic particle physicist, I'm not associated with BRAWM.

Yours, diemos.

Would you please comment on this?